Clock Radio Snooze Button Farce


Snooze button highlighted in red.

When it comes to clock radios and other rousing devices I am a big fan of snooze buttons. If I have to wake up and get up, perhaps a fire alarm or knock at the door,  the chances of me falling flat on my face are about even. I need a few snoozes to ease myself into my day. Those nine minute respites allow me to face the day on my terms.

I was given a lovely iHome iBN43 clock radio for Christmas a couple of years ago. It has nice sound, two alarm settings, a charging connection for mobile phones and the ability to customise how long the snooze lasts. Call me a traditionalist but I leave it at the nine minute default.

I am glad iHome makes clock radios and not aircraft carriers.

There is just one problem with the  iHome iBN43: the snooze button is way too narrow. It is a thin strip that includes buttons at the ends. Not a big target at all. I am glad iHome makes clock radios and not aircraft carriers. At least twice a week when the radio starts to play at 5:25 am I reach out, overshoot the snooze button and shut off the alarm completely. God forbid I have been sleeping on my arm the possibility of hitting the snooze button as my arm flops about farcically like the proverbial fish out of water are nil.

Yet I will have pounded every other button thus changing stations, volume and perhaps time zone. Worse, I then have to take my phone and set the timer for nine minutes, as the method of resetting the radio’s alarm is beyond me.

From the User Manual

Had the iHome folks made the snooze button the size of the Bluetooth area they would have hit the nail on the head.

Could they not have designed the radio with a significant snooze button? Everything else is just Jim dandy, but my most important need is not being met,

DCMontreal – Deegan Charles Stubbs – is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and an occasional Frean and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DCMontreal on Twitter and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
Leave a Reply

