Ontario’s Highway 407 Billing Scam


etr_407_sign
A bit of Internet research and I found the above pictured sign, the location of which I do not know.

A couple of summers ago we went to Boston for a few days. We went over the Tobin Bridge and

What if you ordered a steak and when the bill came it had an $11 plate fee?

were informed by a clearly written sign that it was a toll bridge and that those cars without frequent use passes would be invoiced in the mail. Sure enough several weeks after our return we received an invoice for US$3.00. It cost US$1.20 to mail it so I have a feeling it is not a big payer as many folks from out of state will no doubt ignore it. I gladly paid it.

Last July with the Canadian dollar taking a beating we went west and visited Ontario. We were using a GPS app called Waze and were only concerned with reaching our destination. During our stay we evidently drove on a highway numbered 407. I do not recall seeing any signs indicating it was a toll road, however a bit of Internet research and I found the above pictured sign, the location of which I do not know. Then a couple of weeks ago we received a bill for $28.09!

etr_407

Okay, so we somehow were directed to a toll road, that is not the big problem. What irked me was the breakdown of the charges. $14.24 for 50.2 kms (31.1 miles) is not too bad – about $0.28 per kilometre. Even the $1.00 per trip fee I can live with.  But what gives with the camera charges? How else are you going to send invoices? That is a given. What if you ordered a steak and when the bill came it had an $11 plate fee?

It gets more annoying; they also charged us a $3.75 account fee… That is extortion. I never asked to open an account.

It gets more annoying; they also charged us a $3.75 account fee. I assume this is a one-time charge so that next time our invoice will be $3.75 less. That is extortion. I never asked to open an account.  What if there is not another time? My experience with Ontario’s highway 407 so far does not really leave me wanting to use it again. (To say nothing of the fact that Ontario drivers are terrible.) So please cancel my account and refund me the $3.75 and we can call it even.

I guess it could have been worse, at least it was Canadian currency

DCMontreal – Deegan Charles Stubbs – is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and an occasional Frean and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DCMontreal on Twitter and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
One thought on “Ontario’s Highway 407 Billing Scam

  1. I didn’t know the Tobin has gotten rid of their toll collectors. It was one of the last tolls that had humans in the booths. If we got to Canada, I will definitely avoid 407. That’s a LOT of money. In any currency.

Leave a Reply

