WordPress Raises Bloggers’ Hackles


WP_Editor

Well isn’t this just grand? I’m composing this little treatise using the old WordPress editor. Much like returning to one’s own bed after a few days away, there’s no place like home. I know my way around this editor, how to set a post to be published later, how to copy a post so I can use a template.

I’m not generally averse to change when it results in improvement, but the new WordPress editor was, in my opinion, released too soon. There are too many things that can’t be done. When Microsoft changed WORD by introducing the ribbon at the top it took some getting used to, but it still allowed users to do all the things they had before. You just had to hunt a bit. But for the life of me I can’t find several things in the new WordPress editor that I can do in this older one. It’s not just a matter of getting used to finding things, I don’t think they are there.

Aside from not being able to copy a post, or set the timer, my categories beyond those that begin with the letter E didn’t make it to the new editor. I have seen it written that the idea is to cater to those who post shorter pieces or those who concentrate on photographs. I don’t know why, can’t folks post as they wish? If nothing else this shift has sparked a lively discussion on the support boards!

A few months ago my WordPress statistics went haywire, and have never recovered. At that time I thought I’d give Blogger a try. But in my opinion WordPress’ old editor is a much better platform.

I certainly am glad to be back on the old editor. If you want to do likewise just go to yourblog.wordpress.com/wp-admin. If they ever get the new one functioning at least as well as the old one, I’m open to switching.

DCS_Grad_2 DCMontreal – Deegan Charles Stubbs – is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and an occasional Frean and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+

 

2 thoughts on “WordPress Raises Bloggers’ Hackles

  1. I should have mentioned that about the same time as something went wacky with YOUR stats, mine took a huge dive. Suddenly, one day, there were 150 fewers hits and that’s the way it has stayed. That was when they were also messing around with how many followers they counted (they’ve changed it twice since then, so mine go up and down, depending on which of their 12-year-old happiness engineers are mucking around with the interface). I’m tired of the battle. This fix works, but I can’t promise it will continue to work because WP seems bound and determined to drive us away. Taking a page from the HUGE success of Windows 8?

Leave a Reply

