Ash Day vs. Snow Day


When I was a kid in school every year on Ash Wednesday, the first day of Lent, right after Mardi Gras, they would troop us across the street to the parish church for the distribution of ashes. A solemn occasion that called for us to wear our Catholic hearts on our foreheads, if not our sleeves. This was in February and would usually have been preceded by, or would precede, a couple of snow days – grand days on which the school was closed due to an abundance of snow and the world was our oyster.

Currently in Costa Rica they are experiencing a sort of hybrid; many schools are closed on account of the ashes that are spewing from Volcano  Turrialba. Below is a picture of Turrialba spitting its ashes into the air sent by my sister-in-law. Those ashes land and, somewhat like snow, have to be cleared from cars and any other flat surface. But unlike snow, the ashes don’t melt.

Volcano

Call me a silly Canadian if you want, but I think I’ll take my chances with snow!!

DCS_Grad_2 DCMontreal – Deegan Charles Stubbs – is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and an occasional Frean and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+

 

One thought on “Ash Day vs. Snow Day

  1. I feel the same way about earthquakes. When someone in California tells me how wonderful it is, I remember flying back to Boston 24 hours ahead of the big San Francisco quake that collapsed the expressway I’d been driving every day for the previous 10. I too will take my chances with snow.

Leave a Reply

