Santa Claus Gets New Suit


With the footing pretty slushy out there this morning, and countless snow-removal vehicles zipping about in the predawn dark,  my daily jog was more of a walk. But it became an every cloud has a silver lining sort of event.

The photos are a bit grainy as I was in a hurry lest he move (I also didn’t want to get dragged-off to the police station for taking early-morning pictures in people’s windows … again).

It has long been rumored that in the days leading up to his worldwide whirlwind toy delivering extravaganza Santa Claus gets a new red suit. Not surprisingly, he does so right here in Montreal. With a gazillion shopping mall Santas around, he is somewhat less obvious as he goes about the process of fittings and final fittings for his new getup. However, it has also been the subject of local lore that when he’s in town, he stays with friends, as a hotel reservation in the name of K. Kringle could mean only one thing: either Santa or Madonna was in town! Yet no one has ever let on whose house he stays at; until this morning that is.

One good thing about walking instead of jogging is that I am able to stop and take photos should something tweak my interest. Sure enough today as I was out something caught my attention out of the corner of my eye in a building I was passing. I managed to quickly snap the photo below. The magnified section clearly shows Santa in his new red suit! I couldn’t believe my luck. The photos are a bit grainy as I was in a hurry lest he move (I also didn’t want to get dragged-off to the police station for taking early-morning pictures in people’s windows … again).

I believe this shot, much like the Zapruder film of the Kennedy assassination, is due to become one for the history books!

Santa_Window

DCS_Grad_2 DCMontreal – Deegan Charles Stubbs – is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and an occasional Frean and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
Leave a Reply

