Dear WordPress.com, Please Fix Your iPad App


WP_Logo

Dear WordPress.com,

I’ve got a bone to pick with you!

As fine a blogging platform as WordPress.com is, the WordPress.com iPad app falls short of what one would expect from WordPress.com

I have been using your blogging platform for some two-and-a-half years now. I’ve published over a thousand individual posts. It is a wonderful application that makes the composing and posting of blog entries easy, comprehensive and fun. I certainly can understand why you are the Grand-Daddy of blogging.

I am an avid user of an iPad, in fact some folks think it is actually attached to me, so close have we become. And here is where WordPress.com falls down. Comes up short. hits a snag. The WordPress.com iPad app leaves much to be desired.

BeepIt is often very slow, and on many occasions can’t provide up-to-date statistics at all. But that’s not the big problem. What causes me the most hair-pulling annoyance with the WordPress.com iPad app is trying to use it to compose or edit a post. Why is it that when editing a post with the app often the cursor won’t go to where I want it, or stay where I put it? I place my finger between the words where I want to insert a word or comma, and the cursor shows up, when I remove my finger, the cursor pops to another place on the blog evidently determined by the WordPress.com Gods. And it doesn’t do this just once, but repeatedly until I finally give up.

Stats_2

Today I edited a post that included a link to a YouTube video. The edit I wanted to make had nothing to do with the video link, it wasn’t even located close to it on the blog layout. Yet when I finally, after two attempts, got the update to save, the YouTube link appeared, not the video! Very frustrating indeed. By giving up and using my PC I was able to cut the YouTube link, paste it into a Word document, remove the hyperlink there, then return it to the post and it was fine. But that’s a lot of hoops to jump through.

Can I copy a post in the app? I can’t seem to find that.

Stats_1

As fine a blogging platform as WordPress.com is, and as much as I like the new Beep Beep Boop, the WordPress.com iPad app falls far short of what one would expect from WordPress.com. I hope these problem can be remedied in future versions.

Thanks,

DCM_Signature

P.S. If I had Truth Serum I’d get to the bottom of this “magic dancing cursor” …

 

Me DCMontreal – Deegan Charles Stubbs – is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and an occasional Frean and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
6 thoughts on “Dear WordPress.com, Please Fix Your iPad App

  1. I too have been having problems with my iPad, although not only WordPress. Today there was an update of the new IOS 6 and I am hoping that things will get better. My WordPress app was thrown out of balance a couple of times, but I am suffering most of all with Facebook, where I sometimes even receive a black screen. As far as the Beep Beep Boop is concerned I do not like it but now am forced to use it. It does not work very well and is very much an amateur effort.

    • I agree. When I wrote that I like the beep beep Boop I meant I like when there is some sign that something is happening rather than a static screen. On my PC I prefer to use the “old” WordPress new post as I find the new is very limited. That being said, I did have a go at Blogger and found it much worse. I’ve not had a problem with Facebook… So far! Thanks for commenting. Cheers.

  2. I gave up on the iPad app shortly after I loaded it, even for reading others’ blogs. Because my posts are related to photos and the photos are on my iMac I always post from there. Good ¥#*.€! luck.

Leave a Reply

