I Think I’ve Always Been A Good Uncle; But Today I Am A Grand-Uncle!


Montreal, September 16, 2014

Dear Grayson,

Welcome and thank you for making me a grand-uncle. At 3:13 this morning you decided to  end your two-week hold-out and make an appearance. I think I’ve been a pretty darn good uncle for almost 40 years, but you have made me Grand, thanks for the promotion. By the way, some will insist it’s ‘Great’, but I’m told the correct pecking order is uncle, grand-uncle then great-grand-uncle. Regardless, it’s good to have you here.

With a few family birthdays on the horizon over the next weeks, including my own, I’m so pleased that you made sure you didn’t arrive on one, and that you have your own birthday. You deserve it. I guess you knew what you were doing all along.

You have loving parents who wanted you to get here as soon as possible and were all prepared for you, but you made them wait a couple of extra weeks just to be sure you were ready. I have no doubt that your Mom and Dad are going to be wonderful parents which will give you a step-up as you begin your ascent of life’s ladder. You already show traits of both of them, like your mother you are strong-willed and weren’t going to be told when to arrive, and like your father you showed up  at 3:13 in the morning, which is not long after he gets home from work!

Grayson, like me you have an uncommon name. Appreciate that and enjoy being just a wee bit different from others. Of course as you go through life you will wear many hats and have many titles: son, maybe brother, nephew, Montreal Canadiens’ 2026 first-round draft choice (you’re a natural, you already know how to hold-out), member of McGill University Class of 2035, perhaps father. But there’s lots of time for that, no pressure!

I don’t know if you could get CNN where you were, but the world you have come into isn’t all that bad a place really. Oh it has its moments, but all-in-all it’s pretty good. Certainly not perfect, but then you should not look for perfection in others, or yourself for that matter. Just learn to roll with things.

I’m looking forward to meeting you and watching you grow into a fine young man. As the Irish  say:

May strong arms hold you
Caring hearts tend you
And may love await you at every step

With love from your grand-uncle,

Deegan

 

Me DCMontreal – Deegan Charles Stubbs – is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and an occasional Frean and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
9 thoughts on “I Think I’ve Always Been A Good Uncle; But Today I Am A Grand-Uncle!

    • Thanks Elaine. We’ve been through two such votes on Quebec independence so I know what you’re feeling. My hunch is that the 6-10% undecided will vote for the status quo and a small No victory will result. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

