Time For Wireless Home Electricity


HydroQuebec
HydroQuebec

I have one of those fancy electric toothbrushes that include a timer that helps me brush properly. The two-minute procedure is illustrated by a circle that fills in by quarters, each corresponding to a quarter of one’s teeth – upper left, lower right and so on. You don’t really need the clock, as the brush pulses every 30 seconds to let you know it’s time to change quadrants, but I like to see the smiley face when I finish.

Like the person who claims they are late for work because they were stuck on a stopped escalator…
Brush_Clock
The smiley face lets me know I’m done!

This morning, at the midway point in my brushing, after both upper and lower left had been completed, poof! no power. I had forgotten to plug-in the charging base last night and the result was half a job. Like the person who claims they are late for work because they were stuck on a stopped escalator, I have to admit it took me a few seconds to realize I could just finish the job the old-fashioned manual way. Even with the toothpaste-laden brush in my mouth and handle in my hand it still didn’t hit home immediately! Dumb or what?!?

I have to admit that when it comes to things electric I’m not at my best. Not that electricity scares me as it does some people, I just find it annoying to have to always be plugging in appliances and changing batteries. I think that in the approximately 67,934 times in my life that I have connected one of those funny plugs with one wide prong and one thin, I have got it right first try maybe twice, the rest of the time I have to turn it over, but that’s just an observation.

A hallmark of any place I live is the presence of stopped clocks on the walls.

A hallmark of any place I live is the presence of stopped clocks on the walls. I can never remember to buy replacement batteries so often my abodes resemble New York’s Museum of Modern Art which houses Salvador Dali’s painting The Persistence of Memory and its dripping clocks.

Plug
Wide prong in wide slot, thin in thin, but never on the first try

I have a lovely watch that every year or so comes to a full stop, in need of a new battery, but only after a few weeks of me doing mental arithmetic as it slows down. Mind you, I continue to wear it; like my wall clocks, and Dali’s, at least it’s right twice a day.

I live in the Canadian province of Quebec, known as the North American capital of Hydroelectric power. It has often been pointed out that as vendors of electricity to the north-eastern United States, the lights on Broadway are powered by Quebec. That’s all fine and dandy for marketing purposes, but isn’t it time for wireless electric connectivity, the electricity version of WiFi?

No more unsightly wires to trip over or have the cat chew through. Wireless electricity would eliminate these.

We can connect PCs, laptop computers, tablets, iPhones and more to the Internet with just one wire to a router. Wouldn’t it be grand it there was an electricity router that once connected allowed for the use of anything electric in the home to be achieved by merely turning on the device? No more unsightly wires to trip over or have the cat chew through. Wireless electricity would eliminate these.

Pop your bread into the toaster, push it down and bring it into the dinning room. Put lamps anywhere you want without concern for electrical outlet placement or the need of extension cords. No more crawling under the Christmas tree to turn on the lights. And best of all no batteries, no forgetting to buy them, no buying the wrong size, and most importantly no need to recycle them.

I for one am ready for wireless home electricity.

 

Me DCMontreal – Deegan Charles Stubbs – is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and an occasional Frean and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
Leave a Reply

