Tilley Endurables: Just When You Thought Customer Service Was Dead!


Tilley

About twenty years ago I received a Tilley hat as a birthday gift. I wore it from time to time, but was not what you would call an avid hat wearer at that time. More recently, particularly during the sunniest summer days, I wear it to protect my increasingly evident pate from the sun’s damaging rays, as it pokes through my rapidly thinning tresses.

This week I noticed that right smack on the top of the hat the exterior surface had begun to peel away, exposing the material underneath. Soon, no doubt, my newly exposed scalp would be viewable and susceptible.  Well, I thought, not bad for twenty years of use. The hat, as the saying goes, didn’t owe me anything.

No questioning what I had done to the hat, no small print technicality, just plain old fashioned excellent customer service. A lifetime guarantee that is, oddly surprisingly, good for a lifetime.

Yesterday while taking a leisurely stroll along Montreal’s Laurier Street on a grand summer day,  I found myself right in front of the Tilley Endurables Store with, what do you know, my ancient and torn Tilley hat planted firmly on my head. I had often heard that Tilley guarantees their hats for life, so I thought I’d go in and see what was what. I figured at least they may be able to suggest a means of repairing the tear, before I slapped a bunch of duct tape on it.

Upon entering the store I was greeted by an employee who asked how she could help me. I took off my hat and showed her the problem. She took a quick look at the tear and immediately showed me which hats were available for a straight replacement and which were more expensive than mine and would require me to make up the difference. That simple. No questioning what I had done to the hat, no small print technicality, just plain old-fashioned excellent customer service. A lifetime guarantee that is, oddly surprisingly, good for a lifetime.

Within ten minutes I was back out on the street proudly sporting my new Tilley hat, looking forward to another twenty years of sun protection. In an era when customer service is more myth than fact, it was great to be treated with such a professional attitude by the people at Tilley Endurables.

 

Me DCMontreal – Deegan Charles Stubbs – is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and an occasional Frean and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
3 thoughts on “Tilley Endurables: Just When You Thought Customer Service Was Dead!

Leave a Reply

