Dear McDonald’s Canada: Line-Ups and Closed Cashes


… a store should never have a line up AND closed check-outs

Dear McDonald’s Canada,

I’ve got a bone to pick with you, and yes I do realize that may be an alien concept to you given nothing you sell, not even your spareribs, has bones. But this isn’t about food quality or even nutrition. The fact is, and I open myself up to criticism with this admission, I enjoy your food. I’m not saying I want to eat it everyday, but the occasional Trio does serve nicely as my lunch.

No, my gripe is of an organizational nature, call it management for lack of a better term. Picture this: It’s Grand Prix weekend in Montreal, there are 62 bazillion tourists in town, in addition the temperature and humidity are on the rise. Last evening I fancied a milkshake; you make fine milkshakes, not quite Dairy Queen fine, but then have you ever had a DQ burger? I rest my case. Go with your strength.

So last night at your Place Alexis Nihon store in Montreal I popped-in and took my place at the back of one of two very long lines – did I mention it was Grand Prix weekend? After inching closer during a significant wait, I was near enough to overhear a woman four spots ahead of me place her order for an ice-cream cone, only to be told that the ice-cream machine was not functioning. The woman was irate; not merely at being denied her cone, but because she had to wait in line for so long, only to be disappointed. She suggested in future a sign, hand-written, simple and free to produce, should be placed on the counter so that those looking for a cold treat will not waste their time in line.

Getting out of line I approached the Group Leader at the cash to get confirmation that I was also out of luck in my quest for a milkshake, which she provided. It was at this point that it struck me. Why were there merely two extensive lines, yet four closed cashes? I pointed out that it seemed ridiculous to have two very long lines and only two people taking orders, while four cashes sat idle. She politely, I think, asked me what she could do about that, open those cashes? At which I shook my head and walked away.

I think we all understand that “Fast” Food no longer exists at McDonald’s. Not too long ago a customer placed their order and by the time they had paid for it, it was on the tray and ready to go. The only people asked to step aside and wait were those with a special request. Now everyone has to step aside and wait in cramped conditions, ideal for pick-pockets.

So McDonald’s Canada, while I look forward to enjoying your products in the future, I do hope I can look forward to better customer care and store conditions. I would suggest that the old retail shoppers axiom, that a store should never have a line up AND closed check-outs, needs to be applied to your stores, particularly during very busy events.

Thanks.

Me DCMontreal is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and Freans and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
3 thoughts on “Dear McDonald’s Canada: Line-Ups and Closed Cashes

Leave a Reply

