Booby-Trapped Tea Cups


Welcome to Holy Week, the lead-up to Easter and the end of Lent. Good Catholic lad that I am I always give up coffee for lent. It doesn’t do anything spiritually for me, just gives me some ammunition to look down on others with disdain. Until, that is, I run into someone who has given up beer, now that’s truly the stuff of sainthood!

To fill the void I take to tea. Believe me, it’s not cheating; for my taste buds tea is no substitute for coffee. I’ve dropped into a couple of tea specialty places, but not being a connoisseur the mumbo-jumbo about tips and leaf placement on the stem is lost on me. I just want a cup of, as my late father, an inveterate tea drinker from his days in the navy during WW2 called it, slops!

20140414-103435.jpg
Non-booby-trapped cup

I prefer to go to my usual coffee shop – Second Cup – and have my tea there. But I had to ask them to stop booby-trapping my cup. For some reason the baristas, more adept at coffee than tea, would place the Earl Grey tea bag in the cup of hot water, then sneakily tie it to the cup handle. You see, when it comes to tea bags, I’m a squeezer. I expedite the process of steeping by smooshing the tea bag to get all the flavour out. I use a spoon or wooden stir-stick to effect this maneuver, then using the same implement I fling the spent tea bag into the trash.

Not thinking the bag was tethered to the cup, on more than one occasion I have hurled bag, stick and full cup of tea into the receptacle.

It has taken me almost all of the Lenten season to remember to ask them not to tie the bag and they have most kindly accommodated my lapsing memory.

Me DCMontreal is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and Freans and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
Leave a Reply

