My List-less Life


I wouldn’t even start (a bucket list) lest I find myself having achieved everything and, with the significant amount of superstitious Irish Catholic blood coursing through my veins, fearing the end was just around the corner.

Well spring break has come and gone here. My better half, or significant other, (maybe I’ll combine them and refer to her as my significantly better half) is back in the classroom facing, no doubt, the smiling happy shiny faces of well rested children.

She mentioned to me yesterday that she had enjoyed a good week away from school; she managed to rest, was relaxed, and was able to get done all the things on her list. List? What list? Getting the car washed, tidying up her files, and catching up with some old friends were things on her list. She is a great one for making ‘to do’ lists, and sticking to them.

I’m more of a fly by the seat of my pants kind of guy when it comes to these things. Not nearly as organized, and not all that worried about it. I used to organize and coordinate political conventions for a living. I can assure you I made lists during those projects. Perhaps that accounts for my, dare I say it, list-less approach to things now. Lists are for work, making sure all the bolts are tightened sufficiently before opening the bridge to traffic, closing the door before take-off, that sort of thing.

I would suggest it’s a gender thing, except I have a brother who is an inveterate list maker. And he always makes a point of including as the first item on any ‘to do’ list “make list”. Why? So that once the list is done he can immediately scratch off one item.

ToDoI have several note apps that came with my iPhone that are great for making lists of things I need to get when I go shopping. The only problem is that for these lists to have any effect, I would actually have to remember to take out my iPhone and look at them. Every time I add a new list I see an old one that I never consulted. I need an app that can sense when I’m in the store and  buzz or beep, telling me to have a look at the list.

Of course not all lists are about mundane things such as chores and groceries, some are life changing. The concept of the ‘Bucket List’ has become very popular in the last decade or so. The idea is to make a list of the things you’d like to do before you kick the bucket – i.e. die. I wouldn’t even start one of these lest I find myself having achieved everything and, with a significant amount of superstitious Irish Catholic blood coursing through my veins, fearing the end was just around the corner.

Nope, I think the first item on my list is still going to be ‘avoid making lists’! I just can’t take the pressure!

MeDCMontreal is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and Freans and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+

17 thoughts on “My List-less Life

  1. I will eventually read your blog post; it is on my list.

    1. I just hope it’s on your A List!

  2. I don’t mind making lists, what I do not like is knowing I have a list to do and refusing to look at it because I do not want to be reminded that I have a list of stuff to do!

  3. knowledgeaddiction March 10, 2014 — 1:29 pm

    I tried to guide my actions by making a list for a day, but I can’t stick to it. I always get an idea about doing something and then abandon the list. I also put “make list” on my lists but just because I thought it was funny. 🙂

  4. I was also list obsessive at one time but the craziness wore off. Only one thing on my bucket list – die happy. Think I can achieve it?

    1. That’s the most sensible bucket list I’ve heard of!

  5. From: DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society Thanks for the promo. P. Sent: Monday, March 10, 2014 12:05 AM To: pstubbs@sympatico.ca Subject: [New post] My List-less Life

    dcmontreal posted: “I wouldn’t even start (a bucket list) lest I find myself having achieved everything and, with the significant amount of superstitious Irish Catholic blood coursing through my veins, fearing the end was just around the corner. Well spring break has come a”

Leave a comment