Spring Break Used to be Easter


They say that one of the signs you’re getting old is that you find yourself, more and more often, using phrases such as: When I was a boy/girl, Back when I was young, In my day, When I was a kid. Well, you get the idea. Rather than fight this tendency I’ve decided to embrace it!

I welcome others to post similar pieces and let me know so I can link to them here.
When I was a kid, Spring Break was Easter, four days that involved at least some time in church and definitely no wet T-shirt or beer drinking contests.

As I stepped out of my apartment building this morning I found myself wondering if I had the day wrong. I was setting off on my weekday morning run – something I’ve been doing for more years than a care to remember, but my knees will let you know – but I had to check to see that it wasn’t Sunday. The street was deserted; all was quiet, peaceful even. What was this? No kids shouting, no delivery trucks double-parked and bothering drivers. Then it hit me – Spring Break had arrived. What a misnomer that is when you consider that the temperature with the wind chill factored in as about -28C today.

When I was going to school we started on the Tuesday after Labor Day, had a day off at Canadian Thanksgiving (in October), then nothing until we broke up for Christmas. On December 23rd we left school and didn’t return until January 7th – the day after Epiphany. Ahead of us was the long stretch until Good Friday with no scheduled holidays. All our hopes were pinned on a few snow days to break the everlasting winter. At Easter we had a four-day weekend; Good Friday and Easter Monday sandwiching the Easter Weekend. Then it was Victoria Day around May 24th followed by the home-stretch to June 23rd and summer.

T-Shirt
Wet T-Shirt contestants shiver

For me as a kid, Spring Break was Easter, four days that involved at least some time in church and definitely no wet T-shirt or beer drinking contests. Even when I was at university I was too early to take advantage of Study Week; alas, it was implemented just a couple of years after I graduated. (Somehow I don’t think that ‘Study’ part fooled anyone!)

Now Spring Break is de rigueur at all levels of education and drives millions of dollars in tourism to ski hills and beach resorts alike. Some schools even have a two-week break, but that’s a bit much, I’d rather plug away and finish in time to enjoy our all too short summer.

Hope you all have a safe Spring Break. Even if I am a little jealous!

MeDCMontreal is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and Freans and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
Leave a Reply

