Egg Carton Mystery


Here’s a little Saturday mystery that’s been scrambling my brain for a week or so. With two eggs left in a carton we bought a new dozen and piled the two cartons in the refrigerator. On the bottom the full dozen, atop it the carton with the remaining two.

This is no yolking matter; I shelled out for protective packaging and had to discard it after a few days. Has this ever happened to anyone else? What gives?

A few days later when I went to take an egg I noticed that both cartons, not the squeaky foam type, but the cardboard ones, were soaking wet. I figured one or both of the top eggs had somehow broken and oozed down into the lower carton. Nope. In fact all 14 eggs were in perfect condition. Next I thought the water pitcher on the shelf above the eggs must have been leaking. Nope. The Brita is in ship-shape. The entire refrigerator was dry, walls sides and top but somehow my egg cartons had to be tossed out in a sopping mess.

EggCarton

This is no yolking matter; I shelled out for protective packaging and had to discard it after a few days. Has this ever happened to anyone else? What gives? Is my refrigerator to blame? Do I have gremlins?

MeDCMontreal is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and Freans and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
6 thoughts on “Egg Carton Mystery

Leave a Reply

