McDonald’s “Two Can Dine” TV ad is confusing, at least to me …


Now it might just be me, that is entirely possible, but I find the current McDonald’s “Two Can Dine” television ads a bit confusing. On the ad they show a Big Mac and a McChicken, behind which appears to be to be one order of fries and one soft drink. The voice over stresses that the deal is valid for Big Mac OR McChicken. To me OR means not BOTH.

This gives me the impression that for $9.98 I can get a Big Mac OR a McChicken, one order of fries and one soft drink. Can I have two straws?

This gives me the impression that for $9.98 I can get a Big Mac OR a McChicken, one order of fries and one soft drink. Can I have two straws? Isn’t that a lot of money for a Trio that usually costs on average worldwide $6.40? I think what they want to say is that for $9.98 you can have one of each, or two of one Big Mac or McChicken. But that doesn’t solve the fries and drink issue.

I’m sure it’s just me misunderstanding the advertisement but if I did, I have to wonder how many other folks had the same thought. As I said at the outset, it could just be me!

McDo2_1

Then again maybe this is a big advertising agency error that has thrown thousands, no, millions of McDonald’s customers into a frenzy and, having brought this to their attention, McDonald’s will engage my services as a highly witty copywriter… or maybe a one-time cash award … or a gift certificate for a Big Mac?!?

MeDCMontreal is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and Freans and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
5 thoughts on “McDonald’s “Two Can Dine” TV ad is confusing, at least to me …

  1. When it comes Mickey D’s “Dining” is not the word I would chose. Does this mean I can have a glass of Chardonay with my McChicken?

  2. Food for thought, indeed! If they meant to say a choice of one or the other (1 item only per $9.98) it would have read ” Choice of Either a Big Mac or a McChicken”, n’est pas? The way they worded it is correct, since it refers to a choice of two items on special, i.e. you can have one of each or 2 of the same. I await your invite, sir.

Leave a Reply

