Happy Thanksgiving! Target Canada, Zellers and shoelaces


So Target, your store looks great, and your staff is wonderful, but here in Canada we assume basics such as shoelaces will be on offer – with no strings attached!

While my neighbors to the south celebrate US Thanksgiving with family and friends, the media would have us believe the real name for today should be Black Friday Eve. Black Friday, so-called because a good retail day on the Friday after Thanksgiving can give stores the boost they need to finish the year “in the black”, has overshadowed the true meaning of Thanksgiving.  The parades and football games still take place, and there may even be some giving of thanks, but the shopping frenzy has become the big news event in recent years – and, of course,  the traveling that takes place, or more importantly doesn’t take place due to weather conditions.

TargetWhich brings me to my point. For the last couple of years work has been going on preparing former Zellers stores to become Target stores across Canada; Target having bought-out Zellers. Not only were the actual Zellers/Target outlets thoroughly remade, but entire malls were rejigged to accommodate the new retailer. My local mall, Montreal’s Place Alexis Nihon, is one of the latest to have a Target store open. It has been good for consumers in that the whole mall has been updated and, as Target sells groceries, the IGA grocery chain has begun expanding their store in the mall to compete.

The sales staff were very helpful, given what they had to work with, but so far it’s Zellers 1- Target 0!

Alas my first experience with Target was not a good one. While passing through the mall I experienced that most annoying of annoyances, the broken lace. With the return of wet snowy conditions my first use of winter boots resulted in that mysterious loose feeling that indicated my lace had broken. No problem, thought I. I’ll just drop in and pick up a new pair of laces right here at Target. The signage is good, but for the life of me I couldn’t  find the shoe department. The very helpful staff told me that was because there is no shoe department. Fine, then could you just point me in the direction where I can find the shoelaces? I asked. Well, that’s a problem because this Target store doesn’t sell shoelaces. The well-intentioned sales staff even brought me to the household items area on the off-chance shoelaces could be found there among the light bulbs and garbage bags. But no luck.

ZellersWas I looking for exotic, rare, designer shoelaces? Nope. I just needed something to keep my boot on. You might think a retailer the size and style of Target would stock basics such as shoelaces, but you’d be wrong. The sales staff were very helpful, given what they had to work with, but so far it’s Zellers 1- Target 0!  I know for a fact Zellers used to sell a variety of shoelaces! Perhaps it’s just a matter of working out the bugs in a new operation, but I have to admit I didn’t really get that impression from the staff. So Target, your store looks great, and your staff is wonderful, but here in Canada we assume basics such as shoelaces will be on offer – with no strings attached!

DCS_Grad_2 DCMontreal – Deegan Charles Stubbs – is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and an occasional Frean and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
4 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving! Target Canada, Zellers and shoelaces

  1. Pingback: Missing the Target: Retail Giant Pulls Out of Canada | DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Leave a Reply

