Multitasking: Orchids, M*A*S*H and B.B. King


Although not a green-thumb by any stretch, I do have a few plants. One of these is an orchid – Phalaenopsis – that has recently shed the last of its flowers and will now go on to start producing new leaves as I have learned from a little Internet research.   Well sure enough a brand new leaf has begun to develop just as promised. When the plant has finished with leaf production I understand it will once again turn its attention to flowers.

Chlor O'Phil
Chlor O’Phil

Aside from determining beyond a shadow of a doubt that my plant is a male, given its inability to multitask (perhaps it should be Phil instead of Phal; maybe it’s Irish and could be Chlor O’Phil), it called to mind the words of the M*A*S*H character Charles Emerson Winchester who said “I do one thing at a time. I do it very well. And then I move on.” [Season 6, Episode 1, “Fade in, Fade out”].

Charles Emerson Winchester III
Charles Emerson Winchester III

But then it occurred to me that the plant reminded me of the legendary B.B. King who can sing and play the guitar better than most, but not at the same time! Check out B.B. and Lucille on the BBC

MeDCMontreal is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and Freans and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
2 thoughts on “Multitasking: Orchids, M*A*S*H and B.B. King

  1. Best of luck with your orchid, I’ve waited on about half a dozen of these to re-flower with no success. In the end I just make sure that they are on my present list.

Leave a Reply

