Welcome to JFK Week


Statue of JFK on rue Kennedy in Montreal
Statue of JFK on rue Kennedy in Montreal

November 22, 1963 was one of those days when people remember exactly what they were doing when they heard the news from Dallas, Texas that President John Fitzgerald Kennedy had been shot. I was but a wee lad of four watching children’s shows on our black and white television when the News Bulletin sign interrupted my show. I can’t say I was able to understand the concept – I was probably irked that my enjoyment had been intruded upon –  but I had been told to let people know if this sign appeared on the screen. Being a good fellow I went to my mother and told her about it. Needless to say my program didn’t return.

This year marks the fiftieth anniversary of the assassination of JFK. On that sad day the eyes of world were riveted to televisions, but on those televisions there were only three networks: ABC, CBS, NBC. Now fifty years later there are umpteen networks and specialty channels most, if not all of which will be chock-a-block with assassination-related programming this week.

From historical footage of original newscasts and reenactments of the shooting to those never-ending conspiracy theories, this week will be all things JFK. I find the whole thing fascinating, and do enjoy learning new things about the incident, but am a tad tired of just seeing the whole thing over and over again.

I have no idea who put Oswald up to the task, but I believe there were more people involved in the planning, if not the execution

Was there a conspiracy? I believe Lee Harvey Oswald was the lone shooter, based on my understanding of ballistics experts findings. But I don’t think he was alone in the plot to kill the president. I have no idea who put Oswald up to the task, but I believe there were more people involved in the planning, if not the execution.

Welcome to JFK Week!

Me DCMontreal – Deegan Charles Stubbs – is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and an occasional Frean and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
4 thoughts on “Welcome to JFK Week

Leave a Reply

