Dimming Street Lamps; Mystery Solved


StreetLampPicIt took me a bit, but I figured it out eventually. The mystery light on my bedroom ceiling is no longer a mystery. Several nights ago, after turning off my bedroom lamp to get some shut-eye, I noticed a light shining on my ceiling. This isn’t uncommon; often those expensive cars with super bright headlights shine across my bedroom ceiling as they bounce over the speed-bump up the street. But this was different; this light on the ceiling stayed put for minutes, and then disappeared, only to return later.

This was more intriguing than annoying. It wasn’t like the eyes of Doctor T. J. Eckleburg that haunted Jay Gatsby, but it did have me wondering. Nor was it a flashing neon sign on a tavern – ‘On Tap’; or a pulsing strip-bar sign – ‘On Lap’. It was a gradual appearance then sudden disappearance, not a seizure-inducing-strobe. Was it aliens?

Thanks to our clocks still in daylight savings mode, it’s dark at 6:15 am when I go for my run and it was while stretching one morning that the mystery was solved. The street light closest to my apartment windows snapped off while I was leaning against it, leaving me in darkness and fear I had broken it. Aha! I said quietly given it was very early, that’s the problem. Now being sensitive to dimming street lights I couldn’t help but notice a whole raft of street lights along my route doing the same ‘now-you-see-it-now-you-don’t’ routine. Has my beloved burg gone all environmental on me? Is there a significant savings in electricity to be gained from this? Would we soon be featured on documentaries world-wide?

Nor was it a flashing neon sign on a tavern – ‘On Tap’; or a pulsing strip-bar sign – ‘On Lap’.

Pleased with myself, primarily because I wasn’t going round the twist, later in the day I asked about the dimming lights. Now I’m no fool, I didn’t ask at City Hall where I probably would have been given a long rigmarole about saving tax payers money, nope, I asked an actual worker in a Hydro truck. Expecting a “This is something the city is trying out” response I was a wee bit let down when he said “Yep, we’re working on that problem”.

What I had hoped would be a trendsetting answer to myriad troubles is in fact a problem!

MeDCMontreal is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that, a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and Freans and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
2 thoughts on “Dimming Street Lamps; Mystery Solved

  1. Or could it just be your magnetism? Does this happen when anyone else walks past the street lights, for instance?
    Even more important, are you in the new X-Men film, as Magneto’s long lost nephew? Out simply “jogging” in the morning, yah right!

Leave a Reply

