New My Yahoo! Review


The bottom line: If this is a work in progress, no problem. If this is it, I understand why they won’t let you back as this is a mere shadow of the old My Yahoo!

So I made the switch, daredevil that I am, to the

new My Yahoo! Against all advice and knowing I couldn’t switch back I made a leap of faith. As I blogged earlier this week, My Yahoo! and I go way back. Although leery of the change, my curiosity got the better of me and I went for it.

So far my experience has been a bit disappointing. Maybe it’s just me not yet knowing my way around the new format, but here are some of the things I’m having trouble with:

  • For some reason My Yahoo! thinks I live in Blainville, Quebec not Montreal. Blainville is a suburb about 45 kilometres from Montreal. So when I select local news I don’t get Montreal items, but Blainville stories which are of no interest to me. I can’t figure out how to alter this as My Yahoo! determined my home, not me. I did manage to change it regarding the weather module.
  • I used to have my teams listed in the scoreboard, now I have all teams listed in a particular sport and can switch from sport to sport. When I try to edit this, I can see they still remember my favorite teams, but I can’t figure out how to get rid of the non-favorites.
  • You can still easily move the various components by dragging them, except the advertisement at the top that I used to move to the bottom.
  • The adding of content is a bust; there are several sources available, but every search I’ve undertaken has provided a “no results” result. For instance I tried with the new Al Jazeera America, I went to their page, copied the URL and pasted it into the search window on the add content page of My Yahoo! and was told again there was no result found.

I’ll keep plugging away as I don’t have a choice since they won’t let me back to my old page, and maybe I’ll get used to the new page, and maybe Yahoo! will continue to iron out some of these glitches.

The bottom line: If this is a work in progress, no problem. If this is it, I understand why they won’t let you back as this is a mere shadow of the old My Yahoo!

Logo_3DCMontreal is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that. a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and Freans and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
5 thoughts on “New My Yahoo! Review

  1. I can’t believe the New My Yahoo got through testing.

    News previews on stocks are gone. Mail no longer aggregates all your accounts. Nothing but negative feedback on their boards…. and on and on 😦

  2. Yahoo updates are just plain Horrible.
    1. Calendar for Mobile, you just can’t see the whole day.
    2. Email Stackings in so confusing that I’m fed up and looking for a new and less messy email service right now.
    3. I had a pop up review today and I started doing it and it disappeared. Go Figure and I’m still trying to find it but this the best I could do.

  3. Yahoo mail has become just terrible. Stacking sucks& now yahoo is putting non deleteable ads in my inbox. Many I know are leaving, but it’s a slow process unfortunately. Would never recommend to anyone!

Leave a Reply

