WordPress blog readership conundrum


Over the last couple of weeks I have noticed a strange thing when checking my blog stats: they’re going down. I haven’t changed styles or topics or anything I can think of, yet there has been a steady decline in the number of people visiting. Up to this point I have been seeing a steady if gradual increase in readers, with the occasional spike. But since mid-August a sharp decline has taken place.TrafficGraph

No doubt people may have  suddenly grown tired of my blog and turned away in droves, leading to an almost 75% reduction. I’m sure stranger things have happened, but I just can’t help but wonder if there isn’t a calculation change at WordPress.

Has anyone else experienced anything like this recently or in the past?

11 thoughts on “WordPress blog readership conundrum

  1. The only time I experience a dramatic decrease is when I do not blog often. Obviously life sometimes gets in the way and I cannot always post daily. Also, are you using the social media shares to share your own posts? I have a lot of traffic from places other than WordPress.

Leave a Reply

