Topless rights protests; I’m skeptical about men’s role


Huffington Post
Huffington Post

In case you missed it, last Sunday was Topless Protest Day. In cities across North America, depending I imagine on how much sun was shining, people gathered to protest laws that make it illegal for women to bare their breasts in public but
allow men to do so.  One proponent, in a video that has gone viral, gave the mayor of Kelowna , British Columbia a bit of a start during their interview.

Let me say that I’m all in favour of women having the same rights as men, not only when it comes to bared breasts, but in issues of equal pay for equal work and so on.

Let me say that I’m all in favour of women having the same rights as men, not only when it comes to bared breasts, but in issues of equal pay for equal work and so on.

I don’t want a woman to sit on the bus next to me topless, but then I don’t want a man to do so either. (Okay, maybe I could tough it out if it was a woman.) One of the points these protesters make is that breasts are not sexual, but potential feeders for young bairns. True, but in our society women’s breasts have been made sexual objects and kept undercover; by making them almost taboo, they have become objects of – get ready for it – titillation for heterosexual men and lesbians! (Don’t ya just love the English language?)

Which brings me to another point – appropriately that’s two points. While these women took to the streets and parks topless, men joined them and, in an interesting juxtaposition, donned bikini tops in sympathy with their sisters, wives, and mothers. A fine, even noble gesture, but please excuse me if I sound a wee bit skeptical because I can’t help but think the gentlemen’s objective had more to do with glimpsing actual bare boobs in public than women’s rights.

… excuse me if I sound a wee bit skeptical because I can’t help but think the gentlemen’s objective had more to do with glimpsing actual bare boobs in public than women’s rights

By all means we men should support at every opportunity women’s movements seeking equal pay and benefits for equal work. Equal opportunities in hiring and advancement for women are causes well worth, in fact demanding, our endorsement. But by joining a group of topless women all these men succeeded in doing was looking lewd. Not only that, but now I’ve got to even up this bikini top suntan somehow!

Leave a Reply

