Weekly Writing Challenge: Health and a millennial coincidence.


The Weekly Writing Challenge this week focused on “Fit to Write”. My piece is about my attempt to stay fit by running, as well as a millennial coincidence.

http://rudikennes.be/page/16
http://rudikennes.be/page/16

Sometime during the late winter of 1997 I decided it was time I started doing some physical exercise. I had for many years been a pitcher in a local fast-pitch league which gave me a pretty good work-out a couple of times a week during the summer, but I figured I needed something all year round. I’m not a big fan of gyms or joining in general, so the YMCA up the street didn’t appeal to me.

This seemed to naturally bring me to running. It has all the elements I was looking for; I could do it on my own, when and where I wanted and for as long as I liked, or could last. The only problem was  I’d tried running in the past and hated it!  But this time I was determined so I started out small, a few minutes each day – Monday through Friday. I did stick with it and was soon running 30 – 45 minutes each day before going to work (I still can only run in the morning). Five days a week with recovery on the weekends.

… December of 1999 when it seemed the world was abuzz with Y2K fears and predictions of total anarchy once all the computers fried simultaneously and plunged us into darkness …

During December of 1999 when it seemed the world was abuzz with Y2K fears and predictions of total anarchy once all the computers fried simultaneously and plunged us into darkness I did some figuring of my own. I had kept a small journal of my running so I knew the exact day I had started, I also knew I had not missed a day. When I did a bit of math, going back to day one and counting the weeks through 1997 and up to December 31, 1999, a Friday, it became eerily evident to me that on that day I would be undertaking my one-thousandth consecutive daily run!

Y2KSomewhere along the way, back in February or March (I’ve mislaid that journal, and am not inclined to do the math again) the millennial gods and the running gods teamed up and pushed me out of bed at precisely the right moment to set me in motion on a journey to the new millennium (or maybe they just wanted me to run off some beer).

All those fireworks at midnight around the world; I like to think they were for me and my 1000 morning runs.

I have to admit that, being completely taken aback by the coincidence, I did the calculations again and sure enough came to the same result. All the millennial hoopla took on a different meaning for me, I started to take it personally. All those fireworks at midnight around the world; I like to think they were for me and my 1000 morning runs. I’m probably wrong on that, but a guy can dream!!

One thought on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Health and a millennial coincidence.

Leave a Reply

