Construction work bad for local Montreal business


The empty Hummingbird Haven with construction vehicles in the background
The empty Hummingbird Haven with construction vehicles in the background

Several years ago a number of businesses on Montreal’s avenue du Parc were faced with closure due to interminably long  road work that essentially closed down the street. The work left restaurants and shops with no walk in custom, and even those who frequented the establishments were stuck for parking and convenient access.

… as not one of the little bastards has shown up to sample my wares

Well, all this to say I’ve got a similar problem on my hands. As you may know I took advantage of the new Montreal law allowing street food, to open Hummingbird Haven. Hummingbirds are fascinating, cute, aerodynamically advanced – they can fly backwards –  quiet and clean. Or so I’m told as not one of the little bastards has shown up to sample my wares! Now comes news that the wall of the school next door must be taken down for some reason (one assumes it will be put back). The Hummingbird Haven lane is chock-a-block with scaffolding, wall braces, generators and vehicles of all sorts, but mostly loud.

… disposable industrial quality hummingbird size ear plugs

Spellman
Spellman the Cardinal with sandwich board ad

Undaunted by the construction work nor the standoffish hummingbirds I have once again engaged the services of Spellman the cardinal and Caroline the chickadee to get the word out that I’m open for business. The sandwich board ad campaign starts tomorrow (Spellman doesn’t work on Sundays); but I need to do a little research first in order to get the best price on disposable industrial quality hummingbird size ear plugs. If anyone has a lead or a contact I’d appreciate a little help!

… like that old joke it seems  all the hummingbirds have reservations about visiting my place

I’ll keep you informed once I start getting customers, or at least reservations (like that old joke it seems  all the hummingbirds have reservations about visiting my place). Hopefully the work will progress at a rapid pace and I can salvage the summer season, as I understand fully that hummingbirds don’t use terraces in the winter, opting for dinning rooms, preferably with working fireplaces.

Leave a Reply

