If I buy a Jaguar automobile, I want it to look like a Jaguar automobile


It’s all about cars this weekend as the Formula 1 circus comes to Montreal. I am sometimes taken aback by the design of modern cars. If I were in the market for an upscale automobile (I’m not … it will take significantly more advertising on dcmontreal.wordpress.com before that happens), for instance a Jaguar, I sure would want my car to be instantly recognized as upscale. Having paid through the nose I want people to say “Wow, great looking Jaguar”, not “Oh my God, that car in front of us is a Jaguar, looks just like a hundred other cars”!

I want people to say “Wow, great looking Jaguar”, not “Oh my God, that car in front of us is a Jaguar, looks just like a hundred other cars”!

For instance the 2013 Jaguar XJ V6 pictured below has a sticker price, or as they used to say on The Price is Right, a manufacturer’s suggested retail price MSRP starting at $72,300. the “starting at” is of utmost importance; if you want any options, maybe a steering wheel or doors, you may be paying significantly more.

Jag 2013 XJ V6

Don’t get me wrong, I understand fully that a look inside the car or under the hood will immediately confirm one is a high-end, luxury sports car while the other is a good quality, affordable sedan.

The Hyundai Sonata below has several models, the most expensive of which starts at $31,399, with the same option caveats of course.

Hyundai_Sonata

 

Don’t get me wrong, I understand fully that a look inside the car or under the hood will immediately confirm one is a high-end, luxury sports car while the other is a good quality, affordable sedan.

I guess for my money I’d want a Jaguar to look like a Jaguar. Something along the lines of the 1973 XKE below. Now don’t even get me started on the Lincoln Continental!

Jag 1973 XKE

One thought on “If I buy a Jaguar automobile, I want it to look like a Jaguar automobile

Leave a Reply

