Housing prices a shock to the system


Long-time residents have interesting perspective

I have lived all but three of my 53 years on the same street. Those three years – the Dark Years as I think of them – were spent around the corner half a block away. By staying put it gives one a good perspective on things, for instance the changing make-up of the community from a primarily white Anglophone neighborhood to one now comprising all manner of ethnic and linguistic backgrounds. This is a delightful shift that enriches the community.

I can recall as a kid bringing the rent upstairs to our landlady when the cheque was the princely sum of $67

Another interesting viewpoint that long-time residents enjoy is on the price of housing. I can recall as a kid bringing the rent upstairs to our landlady when the cheque was the princely sum of $67. I now live in an apartment on the street where my rent is 15 times that! That’s not ancient history, that’s during my lifetime.

Around the corner is a lovely little street on which my grandparents lived for many years when I was growing up. During the 60s and right up to their passing in the early 1980s many Sunday dinners were hosted by them. They lived in the upstairs of a duplex and paid a rent similar to ours. The other day I was on the street in search of a parking spot when I noticed there was a house for sale just down from their old place.

The lion’s share of a million bucks (for you animal lovers) for a house four doors away from my grandparents $65 a month flat!

Out of curiosity I thought I’d look up the listing online. Finding it was the easy part, believing it was more of an experience! Once I got up off the floor and regained my senses I shook my head and verified that indeed the asking price was $850,000! The lion’s share of a million bucks (for you animal lovers) for a house four doors away from my grandparents $65 a month flat!

… that’s one of the little pleasures we long-time residents enjoy, watching newcomers cringe when they hear what once was!

Abbott
Ha, I thought, No one will ever pay that kind of money for that place. It’s at the noisy end of the street adjacent to, in order of appearance, an ugly experimental sound barrier (the scrawled graffiti is an improvement), two commuter train tracks, and a main east-west highway – hence the sound barrier.

But I was wrong, in fact as I was going to retrieve my car a few hours later there was a SOLD sign

But I was wrong, in fact as I was going to retrieve my car a few hours later there was a SOLD sign (OK – it said VENDU) attached to the For Sale sign. I have no idea what the final price was, but I hope the new residents enjoy the street as much as I did growing up. I look forward to bumping into them and talking about the old prices; that’s one of the little pleasures we long-time residents enjoy, watching newcomers cringe when they hear what once was!

Leave a Reply

