Cartoon thoughts for Monday; Bullwinkle’s hometown and Prof. Whoopee’s 3D Blackboard


A cartoon theme this morning. As I scanned my morning news sources one thing kept jumping out at me: Midwest faces frostbite threat. Of course the words Midwest and Frostbite in the same headline brought to mind Rocky and Bullwinkle who lived in Frostbite Falls, Minnesota. The town, and much more,  is described at Bullwinkle Toonzone.net:

Rocky & Bullwinkle’s hometown, is actually based on a real place, International Falls, Minnesota. He nicknamed it Frostbite Falls after one reported called the area the “icebox of America”. On a map, located on the northern border of Minnesota, right next to Canada …

I should have stayed inside scanning news because I can assure you the first few minutes of my morning run were significantly less than pleasant as it is currently – 18°Celsius in Montreal.


In other cartoon news … having received an iPad from Santa Claus I have been virtually tethered to it since Christmas. When I use it to find some tidbit of information that is being debated, I can’t help but feel a little like Professor Phineas J. Whoopee and his three-dimensional blackboard – or more commonly his 3D-BB. The character from Tennessee Tuxedo had all the answers, and I like to think the Internet is a little like that  Once again life imitates art; I wonder if Prof. Whoopee’s tablet kept dropping the Internet connection!

2 thoughts on “Cartoon thoughts for Monday; Bullwinkle’s hometown and Prof. Whoopee’s 3D Blackboard

  1. I love how you connected real life to cartoons! I often feel like a cartoon as I always feel like I am trying to avoid that anvil that the damn coyote (aka life) consistently tries to drop on my head 🙂

Leave a Reply

