DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

My Yahoo! Updated but I can’t switch back if it’s not for me


Given the opportunity outlined in today’s Daily Prompt: Standstill I’d switch back to the old My Yahoo!

YahooEver since I started using the Internet on a regular basis, about a dozen years ago or so, My Yahoo! and I have been good buddies. My Yahoo! is still the first thing that pops up on my PC screen when I sit down with my first coffee of the day. I’m a big fan of, perhaps sucker for, the personalization of one’s computer experience; content, lay out, themes, colours, you name it and I want to be able to adjust it to my liking. Hence the attraction to My Yahoo! But I feel my old pal may be trying to pull a fast one on me.

But I feel my old pal may be trying to pull a fast one on me.

With the recent roll out of Apple’s iOS 7 everyone and his brother in the online world is releasing updated versions of their applications that are iOS 7 friendly. Anyone who downloaded the new operating system knows that the iTunes update tab has been a busy place. Different apps have been altered differently; some have the same appearance but are updated for iOS 7 compatibility while others threw in new looks and features to coincide with the update.

So it was with great pleasure that I opened My Yahoo! one day last week shortly after the release of iOS 7 to see that a major, albeit virtually hype-less, new version was available – including a funky new logo. Yippee, here I go, where is that download button? The mock-up of the new page looked pretty good, I wondered what new content I could tailor to my liking. But hold on just a moment. There was one caveat to switching over to the new My Yahoo!; you can’t switch back. Oh-oh … that’s when I heard alarm bells and saw red flags.

“If it’s not for you, no problem, switch back, but we really think you’ll stay”

Does Yahoo! not have any confidence that people will like the new version? Do they want to trap us against our will? If they thought we’d like the new version they’d have no problem saying “If it’s not for you, no problem, switch back, but we really think you’ll stay”. But they want to get you in that leg trap and keep you while they work out the bugs – maybe. That’s not very nice Yahoo! We go way back, let me try the new version confident that if it doesn’t suit me I can of back to the version I do like. C’mon, we’re buds!

Logo_3DCMontreal is a Montreal writer born and raised who likes to establish balance and juxtapositions; a bit of this and a bit of that. a dash of Yin and a soupçon of Yang, some Peaks and Freans and maybe a bit of a sting in the tail! Please follow DC on Twitter @DCMontreal and on Facebook, and add him on Google+
Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “My Yahoo! Updated but I can’t switch back if it’s not for me

  1. Pingback: 12 April 1982: Daily Prompt | alienorajt

  2. kansamuse on said:

    I do not like the new one either. I have a slow connection and half the time I have issues loading. Oh, well progress.

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Standstill | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Time Is Just An Illusion! | The Political and Social Chaos Blog

  5. Pingback: When Time Stopped #microfiction #amwriting | Moondustwriter's Blog

  6. Pingback: Stillness | The Silver Leaf Journal

  7. Pingback: Could I really function in split time? | Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: When Time Stands Still, I’m Trumping Trump | The Arkside of Thought

  9. Pingback: Rocket to space | A mom's blog

  10. Pingback: Can’t Stop This | Edward Hotspur

  11. Pingback: New My Yahoo! Review | DCMontreal

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 364 other followers

