DCMontreal: Blowing the Whistle on Society

Eclectic social commentary with a chuckle and maybe a sting in the tail

Weekly Writing Challenge: Blame it on NBC


The photograph for this week’s Weekly Writing Challenge, 1,000 Words, Take Two conjured up the following dialogue in my mind.

WordPress WWC

Him:    I’m going to miss you so much. It seems like only yesterday you got here completely unexpected and unannounced and gave me the best week I’ve had in I don’t know how long. Now I feel like I’m right back where I was seven days ago.

Her:     I know it’s not fair … I should never have come, but I panicked and ran and, well, you were the only person I could imagine being able to make me feel right. I know it was selfish of me and I’ll never forgive myself for it, but you have to believe me when I say I thought it would work out. It was so terrible.

Him:    Of course I understand. We go back a long way, we have a history. I’m as aware of that as you are. Don’t be so hard on yourself, we both knew it was a chance and we both agreed to take it. I’m still willing to give it a shot, but if you need something else I’ll be patient.

Her:     I can’t make any promises. All I know right now is that coming here to Europe was a mistake. I’ve put you in an emotional turmoil and I’ve loaded myself down with guilt on top of my sadness. I was so stupid.

Him:    It’s not all you fault; in fact it’s not your fault at all. You had every reason to believe something exciting and wonderful was in store for you after all your loyalty and dedication. You were anticipating the great outcome to things that you so deserved, and deserve still. But that wasn’t to be. You had the carpet pulled out from under you.

Her:     I know … it’s just that I feel so stupid. Not only for feeling the way I did, but for thinking it would all work if I came here. I never looked at it logically.

Him:    It’s okay … you were set up by what happened last summer. How were you to know? Really, don’t be so hard on yourself.

Her:     I feel much better when you say those things. I guess it’s natural that I should feel let down by the New England Patriots not making it to the Super Bowl, even though I watched every game they played this year and bought a bunch of Patriots souvenirs. When I ran here for consolation I thought I’d be ready to watch the game from here, a safe distance from the disappointment. With the Summer Olympics last year in London, NBC just did away with the time difference and made me believe we were all on the same time. But there’s no way I can watch the Super Bowl at 2:30 in the morning. I just can’t do it!

Him:    I understand … go on …take your tram to the airport and enjoy the game at a reasonable hour. I’ll be here …

Her:     You’re a great guy, even if you’re more of a soccer fan than an NFL follower. Enjoy your narrow European streets and cobblestone roads and years of history and culture.

Him:    Keep in touch.

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Blame it on NBC

  1. “Enjoy your narrow European streets and cobblestone roads and years of history and culture.” I’m not sure whether it was intended as such, but this is an absolutely brilliant insult, if said with any measure of sarcasm. :-)

    • If she says it with a helping of sarcasm it’s an insult to him. But if she really thinks a football game, albeit a major one, overshadows years of culture, etc. well … The word shallow comes to mind.

      Thanks for the comment. Hope you’ll drop by again.

      • A friend of mine once told me about a co-worker of his, dismissing her entirely for once having said, and I quote: “Plato said BLAH BLAH BLAH.” :-)

  2. I like the twist. I imagine there are many, many people out there who would need such consolation and travel such a distance to get it.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words, Looking Closer | My Blog

  4. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: 1,000 Words, Take Two Really | My Blog

  5. I’m not a football fan, but durn it, that was funny!

  6. Ha! Now didn’t see that coming. Interesting conversation and all leading to Soccer v/s NFL.. Enjoyed reading.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 367 other followers

